Trane Heat Pumps | An Industry Leader in Home Heat Pump Systems

  • 2.922.922.922.922.92
  • 2.722.722.722.722.72
  • 2.512.512.512.512.51

Trane heat pumps are, simply put, BUILT TO LAST. For years and years and years. And they are not just assembled collections of parts, but carefully crafted heat pump systems, incorporating the latest engineering designs and technological advances.

Trane heat pumps are unique, one-of-a-kind products, professionally engineered to provide years and years of trouble-free service. It is for this reason that Trane heat pumps are one of the most often chosen manufacturers of heat pumps. Trane heat pumps have been installed all over the world, as well as in the USA. Very few businesses, organizations, and private consumers have not heard of the Trane brand name. I am sure that you are one of them. If you are looking for more information, specifically on Trane heat pumps, the following may be helpful—

Trane heat pumps are one of the leaders in this industry, and their models include the following: -Ultra efficiency units: XL19i, XL16i -Super efficiency units: XL15i, XL14i -High efficiency units: XR14, XR13 -Standard efficiency units: XB13

The efficiency rating of Trane heat pumps are: 6.8–9.85 (HPSF); 10.00–17.65 (SEER).

What would a typical installation of Trane heat pumps include? –A thermostat – to control the operation of the heat pump system as a whole –An air handler – to circulate the air –The heat pump unit itself – responsible for the transfer of the heat from one location to another –Air cleaner – as its name indicates, it filters out pollution and dust as the air circulates.

Of course, specific equipment installed depends on the exact Trane heat pump model selected for purchase. Labor charges (for installation) and warranty chosen will also affect the final purchase price. Many, many local dealers offer Trane heat pumps.

For those not familiar with them, Trane heat pumps are devices that ‘move’ heat – from one location to another. A refrigerator does this – in reverse from a heat pump. A refrigerator makes the interior icebox cold by removing heat; Trane heat pumps warm the air in a room by removing the ‘heat’ from another source – either the air surrounding the unit (air-source) or from the ground (ground-source or geothermal heat pumps).

Trane heat pumps are products that are renowned for their quality, smooth, trouble-free operation, and efficiency. Literally thousands and thousands of Trane heat pumps are in operation today, in all sizes of homes and buildings, in many different climates and environmental conditions.

Trane is a division of American Standard Companies. A major facility is located in St. Paul, MN.

Trane equipment (and this also includes Trane heat pumps) is currently installed in many schools, governmental facilities, healthcare complexes, colleges and universities, large corporations (American Honda, Motorola, Lucent Technologies), laboratories, hotels, motels, casinos, airports, general office complexes, and retail shopping outlets.

Comments

45 Responses to “Trane Heat Pumps”
  1. Greg says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    Just like they say. nothing beats a TRANE!

  2. Joe Walker says:
    Price Value44444
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction22222

    I have seen a lot of positive reviews for Trane but for me, it has been one ride downhill. The unit broke within just 6 months and I didn’t have a free labor contract. It cost me $300 in labor to get the part replaced. After 12 months, the circuit board flipped. It was replaced and it went out again in 3 months. I am not sure it is the install that’s faulty. Maybe I should have opted for a Carrier heat pump as the contractor had recommended. Very dissatisfied with Trane.

    • Clay Oliver says:
      Price Value11111
      Performance11111
      Satisfaction11111

      Trane unit in my apartment failed after less than 12 month use. Trane says it needs to be replaced. They are not willing to provide any compensation. Contractor says will cost $5k. Unbelievable!!

    • craig says:

      Hi Joe sorry to hear this just so happens I am a Trane Dealer in Texas I also am a Carrier Dealer And Lennox Dealer and I can tell you that I have less warranty calls on Trane then any of these Brands. in fact 2 years ago I stop selling both carrier and Lennox due to there indoor coil leaks.
      If your unit broke within 6 months and your contractor did not warranty it under the first year warranty then you need to be looking for a new contractor.by law he has to cover all labor for one Year.Trane units have a 10 year part warranty out of the box. it also sounds like the tech coming to your home is sure about what he’s doing.

      • rich says:

        I just read the comments you wrote regarding the coils on the trane unit. I see that you stopped selling both carrier’s because of the coil issues.
        I have a trane unit and the coils are rusted and losing freon…. and needs a pan. I got a outrageous price to repair and am not sure if I should just get another central unit and heat pump.
        my unit is under 10 years and cannot understand why they would have rusted already. thanks for your comments.

      • rich says:

        we have a trane and have had nothing but trouble with it. Every year about the time its time to turn on the heat, something is always wrong with it. If you know something that they don’t seem to know, let me know.

  3. Joy Snyder says:

    Trane has been nothing but junk. It has been repaired 3 times and is broke again ! Talk about a nightmare . Nothing runs like a Trane they say…..yea, because it never runs. I am now researching to replace this junk. I am not spending another dime on this garbage. Take my advise, get a different brand. Very very unhappy and a lot of money spent.

  4. john doe says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    agree with joy piece of junk been in home 19 years have replaced 3 times and repaired twice more after that buy something else

  5. Cathy Green says:
    Price Value11111
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    My Trane has had to be worked on every year durning the hot Texas summer. Once again it’s out today at 94 degrees. Thank God for my service contract I’m only out sweat and tears. Will eventually replace with another brand problems is this one is only 3 years old a
    So it will be more seat and tears until I can afford a new one again. I’ll make sure to keep up service contract though

  6. Dan says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    Only commenting because so many negative comments have been made. My Trane has lasted 24 years and still working fine. I have it serviced every year and the only repair was to replace a fan motor after 22 years. I’m in an all electric home in Ohio so it gets a good workout year round.

    • Alicia says:
      Price Value55555
      Performance55555
      Satisfaction55555

      Our Trane was installed in 1987, now in 2015 have to replace. Never one single service call except for cleaning and yearly maintenance. Replacing again with a Trane and hope it last just as well!

    • PAT says:
      Price Value55555
      Performance55555
      Satisfaction55555

      I ALSO LIVE IN OHIO. I AM LOOKING TO GET A TRANE FOR MY ALL ELEC HOME. JUST WONDERING WHAT MODEL DO YOU HAVE.

      THANKS,
      PAT

    • Russell says:
      Price ValueNot Rated
      Performance44444
      Satisfaction22222

      Evaporator leaking refrigerant after 5 1/2 years service. Gets hot in SC. Purchased my home new April 2010, and I thought the trane would last about 10 years. I have a service contract and it is serviced in the spring and fall. I do not know what the MTBF is on an average or compared with other brands. In my opinion the unit should last at least 10 years in this climate.
      Pros: excellent heating and cooling but short life expectancy.
      Only 5 year warrantee. Other brands have 10 years an no extra cost!

    • rich says:
      Price Value11111
      Performance11111
      Satisfaction11111

      If you notice its only on newer units and the company will not back them. We get nothing but excuse and bills for repairs.

  7. john roberts says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Xl 19i three mo. after installed. large compressor failed, 6 mo. later smaller compressor,failed.cost $,860.00 and down time.two years later, large compressor failed again,cost new unit, $,4400.00

  8. John says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Drank the Cool aid and replaced a 38 year old Carrier system with a “top-of-the-line” Trane. Just told my 24-month-old heat pump needs replacement. Trane will honor the 10 year parts warranty but I was told today, unfortunately, that no replacement exists anywhere in the USA and it will be “at least” 2 weeks to build and ship one. Did I mention that today is 7/29/14 and I live in SW Virginia? I am pretty hot right now and will only be getting hotter as August arrives!

  9. Mike says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I agree with Dan, I felt the need to comment since we had a Trane heat pump installed 25 years ago when we bought our home. We live in Ohio as well and it gets a workout. I have only had it serviced 4 times, just to check the levels and only once did they have to add anything. The last service guy set it up on a pad and said everything was just fine. I’m just checking on reviews of new units because I know my unit is living on borrowed time and will soon have to be replaced.

  10. Gary says:
    Price ValueNot Rated
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    My trane heat pump is 29 and counting, I am in the process of replacing a relay (which by the way is obsolete). Until it stops leaking, I am not going to replace it. I can replace the relays one at a time and the cost will be less than $100. Might get another 5 years out of it.

    It has been there so long, I no longer can get the model or serial numbers off of it. While the serial number really does not matter, the model # does. I have tried to find out what models were available back in 1985 but have yet to find any.? maybe someone out ther can help. It is a H&A outdoor package. 240VAC, 40A/60A electric.

    Thanks and have a good evening.
    Gary

  11. Tim says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Had a Trane heat pump compressor unit installed on 9/4. Told by installer in writing there was a 5-year warrant on the compressor. It quit working within a month. Service man (installer) got it working but it started hanging up – wouldn’t cycle on and off sometimes. Reported it to installer. Then it stopped working. It’s shot. Installer says I’m outside the Trane 60-day warranty period but he is going to “help me out”. Hello?

  12. Russell says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction11111

    While I agree that there are many bad reviews on this site, I must add one more. I too bought into the hype that there is nothing better than a Trane. I have only owned this unit for 6 years and have had the compressor go bad twice. I will not be buying another Trane, air conditioners are too expensive to be replacing them every 6 years. By the way this Trane replaced the Rheem that the house came with that was in service for over a decade.

  13. Steve says:
    Price Value11111
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    It’s hard to stop a Trane, they say. It’s true – my second Trane in 12 years runs all the time, without stopping! Oh it will stop if I have it loaded up with freon again, but who can afford to do that every two or three months? My first Trane sounded like a hammer-mill most times when it started up. Naturally it wouldn’t make the noise when the repairman was here (and so the dealer didn’t believe me). I set up an audio recorder and took the dealer a recording of the awful racket. Then he got a Trane engineer out to my house (or it might have been someone off the street who said he was a Trane engineer). He couldn’t figure it out. So the dealer replaced the brand new system with another brand new system. It lasted till the warranty expired and developed a freon leak in the indoor unit. Also, the repairman said the expansion valve in the outdoor unit is defective. No more Tranes for me.

  14. Martha Mayer says:
    Price Value11111
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Bought a Trane XV20 June 2014. It has been nothing but trouble since. By Dec I realized that it was a total waste of money. It does not work at all now. The installer is a nice guy but has not been able to fix my unit. He is waiting for a part that will take at least 5 weeks to arrive. The Trane company is no help either. I am totally disappointed in Trane and do not recommend their heat pumps.

  15. John says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance33333
    Satisfaction11111

    My XL15I heat pump has been in service for 6 years. I have been informed that it is in need of a new outdoor TXV valve and line drier at a cost of $1500.00 to $3000.00. I am having trouble deciding which angers me more—the poor quality of the unit or the gouging of the Trane backed HVAC service agent.
    If you are trying to decide on a Trane or any other heat pump I would recommend steering clear of heat pumps altogether! Unless of course, your wealthy!

  16. David says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Unit has only been in house 1 month 3 service calls already and its down again. Will never own another Trane product $9,000.00 hunk of junk.

  17. Barry says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    My home had a Trane heat pump when I bought it 12 years ago. The house was about 15 years old at the time so … 27 thereabout on the Trane. I had the home warranty people service it regularly. Other than being somewhat undersized for the home, the only complaint I had with the Trane was a very slow leak on the back side of a pipe, so small and hidden that it took the service technician 3 seasons to locate and repair.

    A few years years ago, the only major malfunction occurred. The compressor failed. The home warranty people repaired the unit using an aftermarket compressor. Well, last week something in it started tripping the breaker. The home warranty has expired now and there is no pressure to repair rather than replace so I’m going to replace the whole system with another Trane one notch bigger and hope it lasts as long as the old one.

  18. Don says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction11111

    I spent way to much money on an over rated system. If you are smart you will look at another manufaturer.

  19. Mike says:
    Price Value11111
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Total junk. I’ve spent and spent on a Trane heat pump and furnace. The latest is the second failed compressor (in 3 years) along with other failed parts leading to a recommendation to replace the whole system. Never buying a Trane again.

  20. Jeff says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance33333
    Satisfaction33333

    Bought the XR13 in 2006, lasted until 2015, just shy of the 10 yr warranty on parts. My old Rheem lasted 20; I was expecting more from Trane. Uses R22 and everyone says I need to switch to R410A because feds are phasing out the ozone-depleting R22. Could’ve put in a new compressor, but am deciding to replace a/c with a heat pump and ditch the oil furnace. Reviews (good and bad) suggest that either Trane or its installers have not been able to come up with a good installed product in the last 5 years. I’ll probably go with something else.

  21. bill says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction22222

    My Trane is 8 years old, had to have the outside coils replaced 2-2 1/2 years ago. ($1088.00 and just barely out of warranty). Now it is low on Freon. Wish I had never considered a Trane.

  22. Brenda says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    I see that all the good reviews are coming from people who have had their Trane systems for 20 or more years..well, I’ve got news for all of you, that was then, this is now. They must be making them in China nowadays or using plastic Chinese parts! I got my Trane 4T wr5 just 7 months ago, and about $50 more per month in electricity bills since then! I had an old system that came with this mobile home when it was made in 1992, 23 yrs ago..wish I still had it!! I had started having minor problems with it and bought this piece of crap, which decided to completely quit blowing cold air today June 30!! The company said, sure, it’s under warranty but it will be over a week to send someone to see to it!! I asked about emergency calls, but was told that’s not covered and I can pay for a service call if they send someone sooner! I’m making sure I tell the world what I think of Trane and Century Services in Lenoir NC..this will be all over social media and the investigative reporter from local TV before I am through. You people with the great older models please stop reviewing, this company has gone straight downhill and we need to alert everyone before they make the same mistake we did.

  23. Rita Mathews says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I am so amazed at all the dissatisfied people with the Trane pumps. We have one that has just quit. It is 20 years old, and has not had even one service call; not one part needing replaced in all those years. So naturally, we are looking at getting another, but, the newer ones are so different and cost so much, after all, what doesn’t after 20 years, that I was just checking out customer reviews on Trane and others as well. I don’t see any brand ranking much really, and Trane not doing well except for a few people like me who have had one sor 20 plus years and are very happy. Now, I am confused. Just what is a good one to get?

  24. Brian says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    After our Trane heat pump that we had for 15 years went out, we had another complete Trane system installed. After 3 weeks when it was in the mid 90’s the AC went out. We got a hold on the company that installed it and they came out, checked everything and said that it has a stuck valve. They would have to order one, which would take 3 weeks to get because they are on backorder. I said BS! Told them get a whole new system and take the valve out of it and replace ours with it which would only take a day to get. After that it worked great again. That is until 3 more weeks went by, then it did it again. They will be out today to look at it, but he said it probably is the same thing as before. The tech said that they are having this same problem with several other Tranes systems they installed. He also said that Trane has known about the problem for quite a while and has done nothing to really fix the problem. I and the company that installed our system are talking about completely removing the system and installing a complete different system from a different manufacturer.

  25. Diane says:

    I need to replace the entire HVAC system in my house. I was considering a Trane. Glad I read all the reviews. Will not install a trane. I couldn’t afford the repair cost. Seems like all the brand names I have looked at have bad reviews. So far Heil, Goodman and Trane. Right now I have a Heil outside unit, however every summer needs freon. The company I do business with said that I had a freon leak coming from the interior unit coil and that my unit is so old he can not find a replacement coil. Is there anyone out here that has brought a new system without problems? If so, please tell me which one?
    I can only afford to replace my system once. Thank you in advance.

  26. Butch Davis says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance33333
    Satisfaction33333

    My Trane is going on 22 years of service. It has required a few motor start capacitors. The attic (HX) heat exchanger had to be replaced early on after an electrical storm and a nearby lightning strike that apparently caused an arc which the thin aluminum in the HX could not tolerate thus causing a leak.

    Over all a very reliable unit in use in the deep South.

    A trend I’ve noticed in the previous reviews is that the older units tend to have great reliabllity and the newer ones not so great.

    I’m leaning toward another brand when I replace this Fall.

  27. Barbbara says:
    Price Value11111
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    Had 2 Trane xl19i units installed in 2004. The 4 ton unit compressor went out in 6 months. This was a new construction install. We requested a whole new unit as we felt the unit was a lemon. Contractor refused and replaced the compressor. For the last 4-5 years when running in high speed the unit sounds like a thrashing machine. Now the compressor has gone out again. Piece of crap. I had a Trane unit on my other house that was at least 30 years old. I guess no one can make anything reliable anymore. In a quandary of what to replace it with. Not only does the unit need replacing but the air handler as well.

  28. TGC says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I have had experience with 4 Trane/American Standard system in the home I have lived in. Other than failed capacitors on on unit that was 9 years old an the other that was 14 years old no issues and simple fixes. They are great systems if installed and maintained properly (simple regular filter replacements), I am amazed in in a couple of the homes I have moved into, filters were not changed for over a year. Long story short read the consumer report article from 2014. American Standard and Trane are 1st and 2nd for a reason.

  29. jankees vansluys says:

    just moved to southern florida in a house built in 99.The heatpump is a trane all original and looking at previous owners service records there has been zero issues. The house I had in Ohio had a Carrier ,which was repaired twice (1 BOARD,1REVERSING VALVE) IN the 4years i had it installed.Pretty much know what I will be replacing my heatpump with.

  30. Art says:
    Price Value44444
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I’m rather happy with my 20 year old Trane XE-1100 heat pump. It’s been an excellent, low maintenance unit. Can” really comment on the price since it was installed when the house was built.

    Recently we had to recharge the R22 Freon – there is a leak somewhere in the system. Other than that, there was just 1 service call about 8 years ago (unfortunately, I can’t remember why).

    Now we are finally thinking of replacing it – I don’t expect to get a lot more years out of it and don’t want the inconvenience of having it give die at an inconvenient time.

  31. Glenn says:
    Price Value44444
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I have read a lot of good and bad complaints on here about Trane, I personally have two Trane Heat Pump units in my home, The one for the first floor is an XE1200 which is 16 years old and the only thing I have ever had to replace was the capacitor on it, Its still running like a champ and the one upstairs is fine. The XL system is a little bit louder on start up which is to be expected with a Scroll Compressor.

    Forgot to mention the one for the top floor is an XL14i system which is now 10 years old

    I am very happy with my Trane equipment and plan on sticking with them in the future.

  32. Jerry says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    I have three Trane dual fuel 4 ton units on my house. They are only 5 years old but every unit has experienced multiple major failures since installation. Some failures required six to seven weeks for replacement parts to be manufactured. Some of the replacement parts were damaged and could not be used after receipt. Quality control at Trane must not exist. I will never buy another Trane product.

  33. Jerry Milhorn says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance11111
    Satisfaction11111

    It seems most of the positive Trane reviews are for systems 15 to 25 years old. I can assure you that Trane’s new products will not perform anywhere near as reliably. I have three dual fuel Trane heat pumps on my house. In the six years since installation, they all have had major failures that kept them down for weeks at a time. There may be nothing better out there, but I will never buy Trane again..

  34. Steve Rogers says:
    Price Value22222
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction11111

    Less than 3 years after our 4WCC3036A heat pump was installed the blower motor has gone out. This is a “special order” part, not kept in stock. The part will take 7 – 10 days to be delivered. It’s middle of winter and we are moving space heaters from room to room to keep warm until our the heat pump can be repaired. Very dissatisfied with Trane’s product support.

  35. John says:
    Price Value55555
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    My Trane Heat Pump was installed in April 2000 and it is still performing great. Had one repair in the third year for $365 and have it serviced every year. Excellent product…..when needed I will replace it with another Trane.

  36. Ken says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance22222
    Satisfaction11111

    Replace my old unit with Trane 7 years ago. Just had a diagnostic and was told the circuit board was shot, it had internal and external refrigerant leaks, the capacitor is swollen, The fan continues to run because it wont defrost, the motor has an oil leak and on and on. Initially I thought the service man was trying to milk me so I called another company for a second opinion. Got the same bad news. I was told the average life of a Trane is 10 -12 years. Looks like mine is dying a premature death. Wont buy another one. My last unit was a York and it lasted almost 20 years before it started having problems. I live in central Virginia, definitely not a harsh environment. Maybe two light snows a year. Occasionally it will get into the upper 90s during the Summer.

  37. Mack says:
    Price Value33333
    Performance55555
    Satisfaction55555

    I have had my 5 ton heat pump system since 2001. Have had to replace fan on condenser and capacitors a couple of times. Am very pleased with it. Will replace with another one when it quits.

Join the Discussion and Share Your Opinion!

Price Value
Performance
Satisfaction